My Top 10 Break Up Belters

I didn’t think I’d ever have the guts to even create a blog about a break up, but I’d say it’s been one of the main events that’s happened in my life this year. I’ll be honest and say it was my first real heartbreak, and it hurts like hell. I wouldn’t have gotten through it as quickly as I did without so many amazing people by my side, and of course, music.

I created a playlist shortly into my life as a singleton and wanted it to be one I could cry to, but also sit in my car and scream the lyrics at the top of my lungs. By complete accident, all of the songs in my Top 10 happened to be country (and I’m surprised because…?). I thought I’d share them with you all, just incase any of you are going through a break up, or you just fancy a good old sing song at the top of your lungs on your next car journey.

As you read these, they’ll be going from the emotional stage  straight through to the ‘I’m so over it’ stage.

10. You Get Used To Somebody by Tim McGraw

This song is one of my favourites from his Set This Circus Down album. I guess you could say it could be about a friendship or relationship ending. It’s one of those that makes you realise that maybe you just got used to the person you’re with, instead of still being in love with them.

 

9. Tin Man by Miranda Lambert

Any Wizard of Oz fans reading this? Then you’ll probably recognise who this song is based on. All hail the one and only, Miranda Lambert for this masterpiece. From her new album The Weight of These Wings, and singing about the Tin Man and how lucky he is that he doesn’t have a heart to feel any sort of emotion – genius story telling in this one. It’s a good’n if you need a quiet cry.

 

8. Cry by Faith Hill

The major clue is in the title, the second clue is the artist. Need I say more? I will – for all of you non country listeners. Faith Hill = The Queen of Country Music. This song = one of her best, if not THE best. Basically a song that asks the other person in the relationship with to feel just a SLIGHT bit of pain, to show that it was real love. At least that’s how I interpret it.

 

7. Better Man by Little Big Town

Written by Taylor Swift, sung by Little Big Town. 2 brilliant country artists have merged and created the ULTIMATE ‘I miss you but I just wish you were a better man’ song. This is a good one to listen to when you’re on the cusp of getting over him – but still need a good cry. If you have 4 minutes, take them to watch the video and accept the beauty of Little Big Town, too.

 

6. Like We Never Loved At All by Faith Hill ft. Tim McGraw

I couldn’t do just one Tim or Faith song, I had to add a duet in too. This is another one where it’s good to watch the video to get the gist of the story line. The most Godly line to ever be written in a song, “I’m still living with your goodbye, and you’re just going on with your life”. This is my favourite ‘car belter’.

1

5. You’ll Think of Me by Keith Urban

I guess you could say that some people are super self conscious when it comes to relationships, and I’m one of those people. I was always one to think that somebody out there would be a better girlfriend than me, and this song kind of puts the nail on the head about how I’m feeling. Every lyric, I felt.

 

4. Stilettos by Kelsea Ballerini

Kelsea’s a fairly new artist and I was introduced to this song by someone I follow on Twitter. It’s a song about how a girl, even though she’s hurting, shows no sign of pain or hurt. A bit like when we wear stilettos, we’ll just keep going like there’s nothing wrong. It’s not typical country, so if country music isn’t your thing then you may like this.

 

3. Drunk Girls Don’t Cry by Maren Morris

Another gorgeous woman that’s just made her way on to the country scene, and who I’ve becoming absolutely obsessed with. Her first album, Hero, is a must listen for all women who LOVE being independent. She is the definition of girl power. I adore her. This song is about throwing the trash out, and not letting him hang around. Standard thoughts after a break up.

 

2. Going Out Like That by Reba McEntire

Reba – the most underrated class act in country music of all time. This woman is an absolute genius, fellow red-head and all around legend. This is a good “dance around in your kitchen when you’re cooking” or “I’m currently stuck in traffic and fancy a rock out behind the wheel” kind of song.

 

1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together by Taylor Swift

The QUEEN of break up songs and summing up every heartbreak in 4 minutes and under. How could I NOT include this in my Top 10, and more obviously, how could it not be my number 1? For the minority of you that haven’t heard this song, it explains all you need to know in the title.

2

I hope this helps at least 1 person reading this blog either through a breakup, or gives some of you a new playlist to listen to when you’re doing the housework or out driving in your car. This is what I’ve been listening to since the beginning of January and I’m STILL loving all 10 songs!

Thanks again for reading, and congratulations, you made it to the end!

Speak to you soon!

Olivia

russain-1

 

One thought on “My Top 10 Break Up Belters

Leave a comment